Beaumaris banner

2023 Best & Fairest Awards

Chopper, Cassie and Charlie take out the major awards at the 2023 Best & Fairest.

It was a packed house at the club on Thursday night for the annual Best & Fairest awards. These awards cover the six senior teams as well as a number of significant individual awards.

Cal ‘Chopper’ Heath won his second Mick Kirkby trophy awarded to the best player in the Senior Men’s team.  Chopper has had an outstanding season. His consistency is his strength, having become one of the dominant ruckmen in the League. He is equally comfortable resting in a forward pocket as he is patrolling the game a kick behind the play. Chopper has tremendous hands and is an astute reader of the game. He started playing in the BFC U9s, 17 years ago and has accumulated 116 Senior games.

Cassie Newman winning the Kate Hore medal for Women’s B&F was no surprise to most, she has had a brilliant first year at the club. Cassie throws herself into the contest and is explosive out of packs, always looking for the right option up forward. From day one at preseason training, Cassie made an impact, she thrives on her fitness and strength. Like all good midfielders, Cassie is often seen providing great support to the back six. She polled in 16 out of a possible 18 games and at only 19 years of age, has a big future in front of her.

The winner of the Damien Guidolin Trophy for U19s Best & Fairest was Charlie Wilce, another first year player at the club. Charlie played a handful of games this season in the Seniors, but the majority were in the 19s where he made a serious impact. Charlie can play at either end of the ground as he did in the U19s Grand Final where he kicked 2 goals in the first half and once moved to defence in the 2nd half provided support that was crucial to the team’s victory. He is ferocious at the ball and hits packs with serious, but fair intent.  Having a weapon like Charlie is a coach’s dream and no one will vouch for that more that U19s Head Coach Justin Wilson.

Other team winners on the night were Matt Lovejoy in the Reserves, Max Adams in the Thirds and Angus Marcombe in the U19s Div 3. Well done those three players who have all had outstanding seasons.

Popular winner of the Steve Caffyn Perpetual Trophy for ‘Best Club Person’ was Walter Tedde. For many years now Walter has been an amazing support around the club in a wide variety of capacities. If there’s a job to be done on match day, Wally will be the first to put his hand up. There is no doubt Walter was most deserving of this prestigious award.

The ‘Women’s Spirit Of Mateship’ Award was won by Anna Sutcliffe. In her first year playing Senior footy, Anna has made an outstanding contribution the Women’s team on and off the field. Despite being injured during the season Anna was always there in support of her teammates. On Sunday’s Anna gives her time to be Assistant Coach of the U14 Div 1 Girls. Congratulations Anna.

The Tim Russell Mateship Award was shared by James Davidson, Josh Ward & James Taylor. Voted by the players, this award is highly regarded at the club and for the three players is an incredible honour to win. All three polled equally and they all deserved to share this special award, named after the late Tim Russell.

Simone Marinelli was recognised as the leading goal kicker in Women’s Division 1. She was recognised mid week at the VAFA Awards and again at the Club's B&F. Brilliant effort Simone.

Life Membership awards were presented to former Club President Terry Lucas and Club Treasurer Paul Davis.

Terry’s tenure at the club started in 2006 when he coached the U9s which his eldest son Matt played in. Since then, he has been a multiple premiership coach at Junior level, took the U19s Premier to a VAFA Grand Final and helped steer the club through the BSC disaster and Covid. Throughout these tough times Terry was stoic and resilient. An outstanding Club President.

Paul Davis has been on the Senior committee for ten years and before that served around the club in a variety of coaching and support roles at junior and senior level. In his capacity as Club Treasurer, Paul has been a clear thinking and important voice in the Senior committee room. Like Terry, Paul helped the club navigate through the Sporting Club collapse and has played a vital role in ensuring the Club’s financial security.

Congratulations Terry and Paul.

Finally, well done to the Senior Committee on a fantastic night.

For all the photos CLICK HERE

A full list of all the Award Winners:



Best & Fairest - Mick Kirkby Trophy: CALLUM HEATH

Runner Up Best & Fairest: CONNOR MURPHY

Third Runner Up Best & Fairest: RILEY MIHAILOVIC

Best Finals Player: TYSON MILNE

Most Courageous: RILEY VIRTUE

Most Consistent: CALLUM LINEHAN


Best & Fairest:  MATT LOVEJOY

Runner Up Best & Fairest:  JAYDEN RODWELL

Third Runner Up Best & Fairest:  SHEHAN GUNASEKERA



Most Courageous:  JORDAN EVANS

U19’S Div 1:

Best & Fairest - Damien Guidolin Trophy: CHARLIE WILCE


Best Finals Player: TOM O’ROURKE

Most Courageous: SEB STEWART


U19’s Div 3:

Best & Fairest: ANGUS MARCOMBE

Runner Up Best & Fairest: SAM KEATING

Third Runner Up Best & Fairest: JOSH RABAK

Best Finals Player: JACKSON MELLETT

Coaches Award: PRESLEY EVANS



Best & Fairest – Kate Hore Medal: CASSIE NEWMAN

Runner Up Best & Fairest: SIENNA TEDDE

Third Runner Up Best & Fairest & Most Courageous: SAM BAISAS

Best Finals Player: ASHLEY VAN ROOYEN

Leading Goal Kicker: SIMONE MARINELLI

Shark of the Year: SARAH COLLINS


Best & Fairest: MAX ADAMS

Runner Up Best & Fairest: FRASER JOHNS

Third Runner Up Best & Fairest: LACHLAN JONES

Best Finals Player: ANDREAS BARUHAS

Most Consistent: SHAUN EVANS

Most Improved: EDDY McGARRY

Steve Caffyn Best Club Person Award:  Wally Tedde

Tim Russell Mateship AwardJames Davidson, Josh Ward & James Taylor

Women’s Spirit Award: Anna Sutcliffe

Life Member Awards: Terry Lucas & Paul Davis

Go Sharks!